sterling power alternator regulator [pro-d] with remote

Started by getterdone, August 17, 2011, 09:19:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

getterdone

i just bought one.
not exactly sure how to wire it. the diagrams aren't clear for the type alternator i am using. i'm using a nippondensor 95 amp 24v.
the rotor has no windings.,no brushes.
i've been using this type with the internal regulator for about 3 years. knowing that isn't the best way to charge my open lead acid batteries. i finally saved enough money to buy a proper regulator.
i'm driving the alternator with a 6/1.,and have about 2000 hrs on it.
i did email the manufacture about this. i'll post there reply.
i was just wanting to know if any one else has used this type alternator, or has used a sterling regulator?
here is a picture of the back of the alternator.

BioHazard

No help here, but I've been wanting to buy one of those regulators, let us know how it works out. Good luck.
Do engines get rewarded for their steam?

getterdone

sterling power emailed me back and said [i need to take it to a alternator guy to sort it out.] i think i know what to hook it to, "but" what it cost me, i'd like some advice.

SteveU.

Hi getterdone I be one of those "alternator guys". Mobile Bob be another. I cannot see your picture. Why?
Many alternator manufactures have used wireless, brushless spinning pole piece designs. Some where in there will be a stationary magnetic field coil. Be two leads to that coil you will need to isolate and tap into. Please post up the stickered unit model number so we can look on the Denso site for a schematic. Be a xxxxx-xxxxx number. If two numbers please give both. One will be the ND. The other the intended installed equipment PN like Volvo trucks.
Regards
Washington State Steve Unruh
"Use it up. Wear it out. Make do. Or do without."