Dual Fuel Engines, What new technology is being looked at and being tried.

Started by Henry W, October 21, 2012, 06:19:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Henry W

I stumbled upon this.

http://news.pickuptrucks.com/2009/06/sneak-peek-ford-bobcat-dual-fuel-engine.html

My guess is there is a push for manufactures to come up with much more effecient engines soon because of the new laws passed earlier this year that all cars and trucks must meet much higher effecency in the near future.

Henry

billswan

Well here we go with the food versus fuel fight if that design was to go into production. ;D

I read through the story quickly so I might have missed something. As a farmer I say 2 thumbs up to Ford and I hope the concept works.

Billswan
16/1 Metro DI at work 900rpm and 7000watts

10/1 Omega in a state of failure

wiebe

Is 500 hp good for getting milk and bread at the store .
A diesel make,s more sense to me in a 150 ford .
kubota knd3

Henry W

I agree, The way I look at it is, the EPA wants to kill diesels period.

So what alternatives do the manufactures have? 100% electric? ::) The way it stands I would rather have a vehical that runs on moonshine than 100% electric. The technology is just not there for my lifestyle. What will I have to do, pull over and find a charging station every day to get enough of a charge in an electric car to make it home?  

If manufactures can get 500 Hp out of a 5-liter engine this would mean they can get more efficency and hp in smaller engines.
If they can increase efficency on an engine that uses part moonshine I am all for it.
Let the automotive invest billons of dollars to do research and development for fuel efficent engines and than the rest of the power equipment engine manufactures will have something to work on.

Henry

BruceM

This big alcohol-gas engine looks like a white elephant born of subsidies and politics.