News:

we are back up and running again!

Main Menu

Kubota EL300-E 12v Inverter/Charger

Started by JVD, March 03, 2013, 12:18:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JVD

I just picked up a Kubota EL300-E(~3hp).  The motor was used on a construction sign to keep the batteries charged up.  It has a Lestek 9150 Alternator belted to it.

I live in a housetruck which has a solar panel, 12v bank, and 1500W inverter.  My plan is to use the Kubota mainly to power inverter, to run my WVO filtration system.   This system consists of a 1/3 hp motor, and the largest hot water heater element the Kubota will support.  I would also like to use the Kubota to charge the batteries when there is no sun.. however our electricity usage when not filtering WVO is very low.

I'm just getting into all of this, so feel free to point out all my errors  ;D

Some questions:
Alternator:
I'm having a hard time finding any information about the Lestek alternator, as the company closed in 2004.  At the moment it's still on bracket.  I'm not sure if it's internally or externally regulated.  Anyone know some more information about this alternator?   I'm pretty sure it'll need to be replaced, but i'm on a tight budget so if i could use it, it would be great.   The model # is 9150 140amps.  I'll open it up and have a look when I get the time.  If i can't use the alternator, i'd like to at least use the bracket on the motor.  What type of mount is it?

If I'm trying to keep it simple should I just use a 14.4V regulator and rely on solar to properly top off the batteries?  Especially considering 95% of usage would be to run the inverter with a large load.  We'd only use it to simply charge the batteries if it was an "emergency".  Perhaps down the line I can add a three stage to also properly charge the battery bank.  (when I do it would also be pretty cool to tie it into the trucks alternator)