Engines for Waste Oil use

Started by Crumpite, June 01, 2010, 11:40:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Crumpite

I have a strong interest in running CHP units on waste oils or vegetable oils locally produced from crops.

Is anyone aware of research done on what types of Diesel engines are most suitable for waste oil use ?
I've heard of some practical work done in India, but nothing else.
I not aware of any fundamental research on the subject.

"common knowledge" says that IDI's are best, but some DI's seem to be in use also.
I'm not an engine mechanic or expert, so I'd like to see this considered as part of our research.

Thanks,
Crumpite

cschuerm

I, for one, don't know what aspects of a diesel design are important considerations for operation on non-diesel oils.  Maybe just starting with a known list would help identify engines that are more likely to be successful on waste oils.
Engine speed
IDI/DI
injection system pressure/design
compression ratio
combustion chamber design
cylinder/piston materials
????????

Chris

mobile_bob

i would expect the most successful design would be an idi engine

and the pistons top ring would be of keystone design, and likely stainless steel allow

probably relatively high compression ratio would help, as would running at higher temperatures
like 205 or better degree F. which would require a pressurized system

bob g

cschuerm