News:

we are back up and running again!

Main Menu

Hydronic cold storage?

Started by BioHazard, March 17, 2011, 03:35:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BioHazard

It's almost that time of year again when I drag out all of the window air conditioners for my house. Aside from the massive electrical bill, the noise, and the ugly things sticking out of my windows, they're great.  ::)

This is my first year on the "time of use" power plan, so, when I need air conditioning so does everybody else and the cost for power is at a premium. At night; however, my price is cut by 2/3. I was thinking about building a large cold storage tank where I could chill water at night, and use that to cool during peak electric periods.

Firstly I would need a centralized A/C system, not a bunch of scattered winow units. My thinking is to use the existing ductwork and blower fan for my forced air natural gas furnace. In order to cool the house, I would need to mount a heat exchanger (car radiator?) in the return air plenum and pump cold water through it.

Is this a sound idea? I believe that is how larger HVAC systems work but I don't really know.

What I'm left with figuring out is a water/cold storage tank, and some sort of compressor driven chiller. For the hot side of the compressor I would like to use a few thousand gallon pond in my yard as a large cooling tank. Water normally stays below 70 degrees in the summer.

The major questions I have in my mind are:
How much cold liquid do I need to store, and at what temperature?
WHAT cold liquid should I store? Would there be benefits to using an antifreeze mixture to keep the liquid below  the freezing point of water, or simply let it freeze into a big block of ice every night?
Is there much difference between storing, say, 200 gallons of liquid at 50 degrees, vs 100 gallons of liquid at half that temperature?

Just thinking outloud here. Any thoughts are welcome.
Do engines get rewarded for their steam?

Ronmar