Methods for purchasing a Listeroid

Started by dieselfox, May 26, 2011, 11:26:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dieselfox

Been hooked on diesels cars for years.  Now I need a diesel generator to run a pump and charge batteries.  I am a retired engineer and have time to "play".  A Lister or Listeroid looks like the engine for me. 

I have found several ways, by searching the internet, to purchase one: 1. Diesel Electric Services have six 8/1 for sale.  2. Can order a Lovson compressor from India and then convert it.  3. Couple of places on Craig list (if you search all locations) in North East, but they are priced high and never really sure if they legit.  4. Central Main Diesel who does not seem to be really selling them even if they are listed on the net.  5. Kits - reading some of the posts Dieselgman says that most of you like to build them yourselves, and I wouldn't mind do this either, where do you get the parts? 

These are the only ways I have been able to find.   I am totally open to suggestions.  Since you all have these engines, or something similar that makes you the experts.  What would you recommend?  Thanks in advance for suggestions.

I just hope you didn't all get them before our the new laws restricted imports into the U.S.  Yes that is where I am located.

sailawayrb

Welcome Dieselfox!  I am a fellow engineer too (mechanical/electrical working for aerospace co.) although I am still a few years away from retirement.  You will likely be keen to do things right and it sounds like you are not pressed for time to do so.  As such, I would recommend a listeroid kit approach as you can start with new cast iron and not forever wonder about what some moron did previously or how unknown long run hours and associated reduced fatigue life will cause you future problems.  Here's my setup:

http://listerenginegallery.com/main.php?g2_itemId=351