News:

we are back up and running again!

Main Menu

Icy Ball

Started by Tug, February 20, 2010, 11:07:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rcavictim

Tug,

Love your avatar.  Where did you get that picture of me as a child.  Been there....done that!  :o
"There are more worlds than the one you can hold in your hand."   Albert Hosteen, Navajo spiritual elder and code-breaker,  X-Files TV Series.

Wizard

Waving hand, ditto!

Except was a naked neon lamp without resistor.  BANG.    ;D

Cheers, Wizard

mobile_bob

i did it with a bobbie pin at age 2.5

funny how 50 odd years later i can still see the arc/flash and the color the the receptical cover

:)

bob g

Tug

I am an electrician by trade...so i thought the avatar fitting....
I did this as a young child myself...
Now the Ontario Electrical Safety Authority requires tamper resistant rec. installed in all new home construction...
The new recepticals will stop any child from shoving a paperclip into one side of the outlet...
But if the child is smart and unbends the paperclip it can be inserted both sides at once...
Protects the stupid kids i guess....

http://www.childsafetyoutlet.org/learning/ChildSafetyOutletSlides.pdf

Cheers
Tug

mobile_bob

two early attempts at self electrocution were the one i reported earlier, the
second was really cool

i found an old inner race and tapered roller brgs in a junk pile, tore apart the cage
and had this nice looking roller about the size of my 9 yo thumb, it had that dull inner
layer and the shiney outer layer

i wondered if it could be charged like a battery?

:)

so i unscrewed the bulb from my desk lamp, carefully place my roller in the socket
and plugged in the lamp cord to the wall receptical

:o

hmmmm, that didn't work out very well!

ruined my desklamp too!

no better lessons learned than those from direct observation

bob g

rcavictim