News:

we are back up and running again!

Main Menu

WVO Mixed With Diesel

Started by LowGear, January 31, 2012, 11:50:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LowGear

I had a fellow helping me today with my WVO separation program.  He dumped about four gallons of diesel into my separating drum (55 gallon).  Can I still process this mixture into biodiesel?  If I wait a few days will it move up to the top of the drum where I can pull it off?

Casey

cognos

Although I can't say for sure, if the diesel/WVO has been mixed at all, it's unlikely that the diesel will "float" to the surface and be available for skimming.

As far as processing the mix into BD, I have no expertise or experience of the process you're using or chemistry, and therefore no opinion. Just be aware that diesel has a flash point of around 125°F, so if there's any heat involved in the processing, and it gets above that, you will be evolving gas, and could inadvertently create an explosive mixture.

veggie

No....and No

1 - My blending experiments have shown very little separation after months of observation.

2 - Petroleum Diesel fuel will really mess up your biodiesel reaction.
BD reacting is a process of separating fatty acids from biological sources.
Eg: animal fats or plant oils.

Diesel fuel or water will greatly interfere with the reaction process.

Veggie

mbryner

Heck, I don't know anything WVO, but can't you just centrifuge it or heat it and still burn it in a Listeroid even though it has diesel mixed in, just like thinning WMO?
JKson 6/1, 7.5 kw ST head, propane tank muffler, off-grid, masonry stove, thermal mass H2O storage

"Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temp Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." Ben Franklin, 1775

"The 2nd Amendment is the RESET button of the US Constitution"

LowGear