News:

we are back up and running again!

Main Menu

DC A/C

Started by CLC379, April 16, 2010, 09:39:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CLC379

9000 BTU on less than 1hp

seems to be super efficient compared to a belt driven sanden compressor that requires about 4.4kw?

http://www.dcairco.com/products.html

CLC379

sorry if i am bringing up something that dont belong on the forumn, i am new to generation and cogeneration

but this is something that confuses me

http://www.sanden.com/index.php?id=U5H0AMX7Q

if you click on the power curve most of the compressors alone require over 4kw to turn. how is it that a complete 12/24/48 dc electric unit can run on less than 1hp?

sanden also lists this dc drive compressor but dont show specs  http://www.sanden.com/index.php?id=TSPM4GG46

mobile_bob

CLC:

welcome to the forum, and you are doing just fine asking about this in my opinion

not sure how to answer your question, but it appears to me that there are certainly those
that don't require 4kwatts input to work

http://www.sanden.com/images/SD7H15_Performance.pdf

it looks like this example produces about 3kwatt or cooling with an input of about 1.75 kwatts?

it might be that the dc units are variable displacement units and produce perhaps 1500watts of cooling for about a hp of input
give or take a bit.

bob g

mobile_bob

Give it a couple more days, WGB is still on the road home, he is our resident refrigeration guru
if he don't know, i bet he knows where to find out what you want to know

bob g

CLC379

Thanks Bob

im sure this is not complicated to most here. but im lost

1hp=746watts=.746kw

what i had done earlier was look up a 8-9k btu auto a/c, the size the compressor they used on sandens site, it require's about 4kw to run at peak efficiency. that is the compressor alone! on top of that it would also require both condensor and evaporator fans.