CHP Unit: "The Generator"

Started by Ronmar, July 05, 2010, 06:28:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ronmar

Intro:  My name is Ron Marlett. I live in the Pacific Northwest. I am a retired Chief Electronics Technician, USCG.  I have been wrenching on things that turn fuel into heat and noise since I could walk.

Operational Philosophy:  This unit was developed initially to provide electrical power to operate a pellet stove and power my house when other power was unavailable.  It's intended use is for less than 12 hours a day.  Since this is such a small load, it quickly grew to allow the powering of the basic lighting and appliance loads, as well as powering the well pump.  These needs were quite easily met with the then readily available 6HP slow speed engine, commonly referred to as a Listeroid. I also favored this engine due to it's potential for long service life, and it's low fuel consumption.  It is also not unpleasant to be around like many generators I have worked with over the years.  Early on in my design, I was a little frustrated that the only thing I could not provide for my family's comfort was hot water.  The electric water heater load is just too great, without going to a much larger generator.  A little further research showed me that it was quite easy and very economical to recover the waste heat from this liquid cooled engine.  So before completion, the plan was shifted from simple backup electricity generation to that of Combined Heat and Power generation.. 

Bill of Materials:  2004 vintage pre-ban 6HP/Single cylinder slow speed engine based on the Lister CS series liquid cooled engine design, $1200. "ST" type 5KW, 1800RPM/4Pole harmonically excited generator head with 8groove serpentine drive pulley, $315.  5X12, 10 plate Brazed Flat plate Heat Exchanger,  $95.  14"X14"X4" fan coil unit, $127. Taco 004 circ pump, $97.  Misc steel for foundation, drive belt and fittings/hardware. $200.  1300# concrete base block was free/recycled.