ToroGen Generator Questions

Started by injin man, December 01, 2010, 09:01:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

injin man

Bob,

I'm not an EE, but I've stayed at a Holiday Inn Express,   ;D, your ToroGen
is very close to a design I'm studying that was built by a couple guys with
lots of letters behind their names at NREL. Theirs is a Direct Drive Axial Flux
Toroid wound field(one big coil) fitted into 'poles' with slots with the Neo mags
sandwiched between the rotor segments, there were 2 coils per phase and the
phases then rectified to 48V or so.

My variation involves a series of three sets of 3 radial toroids with a radial flux
rotor probably a 12 pole with the windings done for 24V.  I'll see if the paper is protected
and then post a link.
Here's a link to the paper it's from 1998 but hey most of the stuff we like is at least
a hunderd years old.

http://www.nrel.gov/docs/legosti/fy98/24996.pdf

mobile_bob

i was aware of the nrel guys work, and as you recognize there really is nothing new under the sun that somebody
didn't work on over a hundred years ago,, nothing is more so than alternator design.

having said that, i look forward to your progress, and would like to see how it works out.

while the design is called a toroid, because of the single toroid coil stator, my design was quite different and truly modular
in that each coil had its own toroid core and there could be as many as one wants poles and phases. the advantage if there is one
is the ability to remove a single toroid core with its related coil for replacement in case of burn out, or one could reconfigure the number, connections etc to get whatever output he wants. also a machine could have a complete set of toroid cores wound with differing turn counts and gage of wire to match the blade set, wind speeds and voltage requirements of an installation.

basically the torogen would be an experimenters dream because of its modularity and ease in making changes rapidly.