News:

we are back up and running again!

Main Menu

Z482 Belt Drive

Started by greenhornet, May 29, 2016, 06:20:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

greenhornet

Hi Gang,

I am brand new to gensets and looking for advice and help in designing a variable speed belt drive generator using a Kubota Z482 and RV-160 Short electric motor. The genset will be going into a modified 144 volt Electric Centurion car thus creating a range extender for the vehicle.

Any help and advice on this build would be greatly appreciated. 

Here is a link to the BLDC motor that I would like to use = http://www.revolt.org.il/rv-160models/rv-160pro-short-2/
Here is a link to the Centurion car = http://rqriley.com/cent.html
Here is a set of plans that I have for a series hybrid car = http://www.motherearthnews.com/green-transportation/electric-car-conversion-zmaz79jazraw.aspx

greenhornet

The electric motor pictured with the Kubota engine above is a motenergy ME0913. I will be using this 30kw peak motor to power the Centurion car. These motors have been successfully used in electric racing motorcycles at voltages above 156V. They weigh in at 35lbs and pack a pretty solid punch. The plan is to modify the Centurion to a 3 wheeler via a Triumph Speedmaster rear swing arm welded to the Triumph Spitfire frame . The single rear wheel will be powered by this ME0913 electric motor via chain drive. I decided on this electric motor because of its power to weight ratio and the fact I was able to purchase it on sale for around $450. The Z482 that I have pictured I purchased off Ebay a while back and was setup already as a genset with Hayes parts but never used as it appears brand new from what I can tell.  

Here is a link to the ME0913 = http://www.cloudelectric.com/product-p/mo-me0913.htm

BruceM